About Assistant Accounts
Not sure whether to create an assistant account for a new team member? Here’s everything you need to know to make the right decision.
Assistants do not:
- Own or manage clients. They merely manage the practitioners who own the clients.
- Have their own booking calendar.
- Own appointments.
- Own email templates.
- Own form templates or headers.
- Own forms completed by clients.
- Own notes or note templates.
- Have their own dashboard.
- Have their own notification permissions:
- When an assistant edits the notifications in More → Settings → Notifications, they edit the notifications for the practitioner they are currently managing, as well as the notifications for other assistants managing that practitioner.
- SMS Notifications do not pertain; SMS notifications are not available to assistants.
Where do Assistants appear in records?
- When an assistant adds staff comments to a client profile, the comment is attributed to that assistant.
- When a task is assigned to an assistant, the task record reflects their name.
- When an assistant sends a form and adds an optional message, the assistant's name shows as the message sender.
- When sending a client a message in the client portal, the assistant's name appears to the client.
- When signing an Office Use Only field or a Witness field on a consent form, the assistant's name appears.
What can Assistants control?
- If an assistant manages the admin/owner and they have the admin role, they will have admin-level access, but only when managing the admin. This access will be limited in the following ways:
- The assistant will not have admin-level access when managing a non-admin practitioner.
- The assistant will still not be able to manage the admin's More → Account page, and therefore will not see certain tabs. For more information about how the More → Account view varies by account, click here.
- Assistants can view and edit the following in More → Account:
- Their name, email and password
- Their Two-Factor Authentication method
- Their Adopted Signature
ABOUT CLIENT ACCESS:
- If an assistant has the special permission Can access all clients, that assistant will always be able to access all clients, even when managing a practitioner who doesn't have access to all clients.
- If an assistant does not have the special permission Can access all clients, that assistant will only be able to access the clients owned by the practitioner they are managing, and the clients to whom the practitioner has been granted access via manual client sharing. Read Manage Client Access for more details.
- If a practitioner has the special permission Can access all clients, that permission does not get passed down to the assistant managing them. An assistant will only be able to access all clients if the assistant has that permission checked for their role.
