Preventing Duplicate Patients in RevolutionEHR
When you allow patients to fill out a form using a public URL, there is the potential for duplicate records to be created in RevolutionEHR. This happens because when a patient submits a form, IntakeQ tries to find that patient based on the information they provided (first name, last name and date of birth). If IntakeQ doesn't find an exact match, it creates a new patient in the EHR.
This behavior can be prevented by enabling the setting "Prevent IntakeQ from creating new patients in the EHR".
When this setting is enabled, IntakeQ will not upload the submitted form automatically when a match is not found. For those cases, the staff will need to log into IntakeQ, open the form, and assign it to an existing patient. This will make sure the form is uploaded to the proper patient profile in RevolutionEHR.
When a staff member opens a form that has not been uploaded, they will see a prompt at the top:
Clicking on Upload to EHR allows them to choose the proper patient to upload to: